Grow Write Guild #19: Write About Your Plans for the Coming Growing Season

It’s appropriate that my first Grow Write Guild post is for a prompt about planning. I’ve been looking over last year’s garden plan and notes and thinking about what I want to repeat or do differently this year and this is a great incentive to get it down in writing. For me, writing is thinking, though that may not be obvious looking over some of my past posts. When I want to really dig into an idea, examine my reasoning or do some planning, getting the words down helps. Something about writing and revising lists and sentences clarifies things.

The actual physical plan for the garden is pretty general and the layout of the beds hasn’t changed since I standardized them a couple years ago. This is so I can work on improving the soil without disturbing it over much and not have to loosen up and start over with a spot that happed to be part of a path last season. There are twelve beds in a 2 x 6 grid divided functionally into four quadrants to make crop rotation easy. Each year the family/category that was grown in one quadrant rotates clockwise to the next one like the players on a volleyball team. The only real thought I’ve given to the order of the rotation is to have my leafy crops like lettuce and spinach follow the beans so they can take advantage of the their nitrogen fixing activity.

Garden Plan

Starting in the Allium quadrant the biggest change will be to buy onion plants rather than grow them from seed. Last year I did use seed and had good results. But the number of onions I grow translated into a bigger proportion of my seed-starting space than I liked.  Also, when one of the varieties I tried failed to germinate well, I went to the nursery to buy some plants to make up the difference  and discovered that they are pretty darn cheap. Shallots and leeks will be reduced in numbers this season. I ended up with more seedlings last time than I needed but I couldn’t part with them and so ended up with more than enough plants. I’d rather use that space for more succession plantings of scallions.

That’s another thing I intend to get a get a better handle on this season. I tend to put in too much of a crop all at once and then it’s feast followed by famine, which brings me to the next quadrant: the leafy things. The first year we had our community garden plot I was so anxious to start planting things I put in a ton of lettuce all at once. I ended up taking multiple coolers full of it to work to distribute. This year’s lettuce varieties? More romaine and bibb types and less of the plain old leaf lettuce. For spinach I’m giving up on ‘Bloomsdale.’ For a while I thought the uneven germination and growth were because my seed was getting old but the fresh seed I got last year did just as badly. The Avon I got at the garden seed fair did much better. Score one for the hybrids, unfortunately. Maybe I’ll look for and OP spinach that performs better. I’m also going to give Malabar spinach (Basella alba) a try. Stay tuned for results later this year. In other leafy news: less chard, more escarole. Brussels sprouts, assorted annual herbs including cilantro and at least a fall planting of Chinese cabbage, bok choy and arugula will be in this quadrant as well.

Next up is the legume quadrant. As always, lots of beans for drying will star. Pole beans will get more emphasis for getting maximum yield for the space, including my favorite ‘Christmas’ pole lima beans. Sugar Snap will be the pea of choice. No fava beans this year. They took too much space for too low of a usable yield. The exciting new addition to the legumes this year is peanuts. The Co-Conspirator wants me to try growing them so I’m giving them a shot. Fingers are crossed for a long enough growing season.

The final quadrant is probably my favorite. Here’s where I grow tomatoes, peppers, potatoes and tomatillos. This year the plan is for more tomatoes, especially paste varieties. I’m going to skip ‘San Marzano’ this time around in favor of larger, meatier ones. I’m not making pizza napoletana anyway. I try to can as many tomatoes as possible and last season I only had enough tomatoes to put up 19 pints. A dozen of those have been consumed already and it’s not even the middle of January. I’ll probably even give over some of the designated pepper bed for tomatoes since last year we had more than enough peppers. I’m also going to ease up on how severely I prune the tomatoes, probably allowing three or four vines for each one instead of trying to limit them to one. This year I’ll grow a tomatillo again and see if I can stake it up more. I wonder if it could be espaliered…hmmm… The plants get pretty huge and produce lots of fruit so there will only be one again. I’ll also be trying to grow potatoes in a stack of cedar boxes again. This time around I’ll be more selective of the variety and pay more attention to technique.

Carrots! I almost forgot the root crops, which for me pretty much means carrots and beets, although I’m tempted to throw in some salsify again and I haven’t had turnips in a year. They’ll go in the quadrant marked “Coles and Leafies.” No carrot blends. Too hit-and-miss. I will find ‘Atomic Red’ and they will grow. I may do ‘Yellowstone’ again since it did so well. No more of the Parisian type. They produced too little food per square foot and were hard to peel if they needed it. ‘Danvers Half Long” will probably be my go-to orange carrot for the foreseeable future. I’m also going to take better care in storing my carrots. Last fall I set up a mini fridge in the basement just for the bumper crop of carrots. I thought it was set at a good temperature but managed to freeze every single carrot. They’re still edible cooked, but I was hoping to have sweet, crunchy, raw carrots to rabbit on all winter.

There are some other, general things I intend to do in 2014:

  • More fall crops of things we’ll actually eat.
  • Get the soil tested and apply organic soil amendments as needed. So far I’ve relied mostly on organic matter with little to no attention to minerals.
  • More cover cropping since the two beds I gave over to buckwheat did so well. The timing is what I don’t quite have a handle on so I’ve got some studying up to do there.
  • Using coir for seed starting in lieu of peat which is unsustainable and environmentally devastating.
  • Attend more garden committee meetings.
  • Plant a row of sunflowers again to discourage human marauders.
  • Chant “Grow what we eat. Eat what we grow” daily.
  • Enjoy every moment in the garden that I can.

What are your plans for the coming garden season?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Great post. I always keep track of what my garden is doing and what I’d like to change for next year. I used Evernote for the last two years. It helps me catalog with photos. 😊

    Reply

  2. Last year I started to prune the tomatoes and then decided not to continue. I had three plants and they became a hedge of red fruits, growing outwards, inwards, near the ground, round each other – it was wild I loved it and had heaps of tomatoes.

    Reply

    • I’m finding that the pruning keeps them tidy and I get bigger tomatoes but probably not as many. This year I’ll see if less work yields more tomatoes. I hope so!

      Reply

  3. @deliciousdaydreams – That’s something that I think would make an interesting blog post by itself: how one takes notes and/or journals their garden. I’ve got kind of a post like that in the works so I’m going to encourage the gardening blogs I follow to do the same if they haven’t already.

    Reply

  4. Great post! I’ve done the ‘feast and famine’ cycle myself in my veggie garden. I feel like a lot of growing vegetables is learning how to time your seeding. So many times I’ve ended up with buckets of lettuce all at once. Now I just plant half a row, 2 weeks apart.

    Reply

    • That’s my intention from now on. Once the season is upon me, though I know I’ll be a lot busier and will have to set calendar reminders to do it!

      Reply

  5. Your garden plan tells of experience, while I feel mine reveals me for more of a beginner. When you get a handle on the “feast or famine” let me know. I have never been able to. :)

    Reply

  6. […] made quite a few changes to the garden plan since I first posted it back on January 12. It has actually be reworked considerably all due to one big […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Brad Young Art

Doodling and Drawing Life

Moorezart

Artful Blogger

The Rural Side

My Adventures on the Rural Side of Suburbia

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Delicious Daydreams

I garden. I cook. I eat. I blog.

Nature's Place

The place of Nature in the 'ordinary' Spiritual Life through Meditation using Macro Photography to illustrate.

Veggie*Novice

A beginners life at the allotment

Maggie Cameron Writes

A beginning blog for a beginning writer

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

gardeningvix's Blog

Grow something...

samsallotment

Just another WordPress.com site

randomblog2014

tracking a year of experiences

Notes from the Beeyard

Thoughts and Observations of a Midwest Beekeeper

ilovemyplot

Ramblings on loving the allotment life and other garden/nature delights

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

Pardon My Garden

Where Experimenting is Encouraged

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

bethelsbees

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventuresinbeeland's Blog

My beekeeping bumbles

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

