Garden Plan Update

I’ve made quite a few changes to the garden plan since I first posted it back on January 12. It has actually be reworked considerably all due to one big decision.

Garden Plan May 2014

Previously, Aliaceae, Solanaceae, Leguminosae, and a quadrant for miscellaneous (yellow here) were each going to occupy three of the twelve beds rotating on a four-year schedule. Then came the last of the tomatoes. I believe it was soon after I posted that plan that we used our last jar of home-canned tomatoes. I decided then that I was going to devote another bed to tomatoes and reduce the onion/leek/garlic section by one bed. With some color-coded schemes sketched out for the succeeding years I settled on this one. With the tomatoes/peppers/tomatillo/potatoes now taking four beds the rotation will now repeat every three years.

The fact that the garlic was already in the ground from last fall, combined with other factors means that next year tomatoes are going to be in the same bed they were last year but I can live with that. I plan to start actually applying organic fertilizers since I don’t have a source of good compost other than leaves so nutrient depletion isn’t a big concern.

As of today everything in the first planting is in or has a space reserved for it. There are a few small spaces indicated with question marks available for spontaneous ideas—I don’t adhere strictly to grouping plants by family. And, of course, over time I will work in flowering annuals here and there to attract beneficial insects.

Overall I’m happy with this scheme. I hope to learn more about how to interplant and get the most out of succession planting. Eventually those findings will work their way into the initial garden plan. For now I’m going to satisfy myself with keeping records of what I planted in unplanned succession for my own reference in the future.

After designing landscapes for 15 years I’ve learned that plans are made to be modified.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I look forward to seeing your photos over the next months as veg and flowers grow.

    Reply

  2. We don’t grow a lot of vegetables, just some of the easier ones but I think my tomatoes give me the most back. There is such a difference in the home grown tomato flavour and none get wasted as I just reduce them and freeze the puree. Amelia

    Reply

    • I agree completely. If I were only growing one thing it would be tomatoes. There’s simply no comparison between a good home grown one and the red plastic balls most grocery stores sell.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Brad Young Art

Doodling and Drawing Life

Moorezart

Artful Blogger

The Rural Side

My Adventures on the Rural Side of Suburbia

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Delicious Daydreams

I garden. I cook. I eat. I blog.

Nature's Place

The place of Nature in the 'ordinary' Spiritual Life through Meditation using Macro Photography to illustrate.

Veggie*Novice

A beginners life at the allotment

Maggie Cameron Writes

A beginning blog for a beginning writer

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

gardeningvix's Blog

Grow something...

samsallotment

Just another WordPress.com site

randomblog2014

tracking a year of experiences

Notes from the Beeyard

Thoughts and Observations of a Midwest Beekeeper

ilovemyplot

Ramblings on loving the allotment life and other garden/nature delights

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

Pardon My Garden

Where Experimenting is Encouraged

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

bethelsbees

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventuresinbeeland's Blog

My beekeeping bumbles

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

