Late June Garden Update

I haven’t posted anything about what’s growing lately and reading other bloggers’ reports has inspired me to put together a little update. In general, I have to say I’m pretty pleased with the way most of the garden is progressing at this point. In fact, it’s been a few days since I took most of these pictures and the change in that short time is amazing.

Herbs

Starting at the entrance, most of the herbs are doing well. The Greek oregano has been blooming like crazy and is encroaching on the lemongrass and fernleaf lavender at its sides. The latter has been a disappointment and I wouldn’t buy it again. The leaves smell more medicinal than the French lavender I grew last year. Across the path the potted mint is going strong and has contributed to a number of  refreshing Mojitos already.

Pepper2

Pepper

The various chilis and bell peppers have begun setting fruit and it’s developing quickly. I hope the sunflower fence fills in soon. These are right by the main path and dangerously visible at the moment.

Tomato Flower

Tomato

The tomatoes are blooming and I’ve seen bumblebees around so it’s no surprise they are also setting fruit. My plan to prune less and grow bigger plants is resulting in a lot more tying. I’m going to have to cut up more shirts soon.

Parsley

The bush and pole beans are growing and flowing all over the place now. My fears of another Mexican bean beetle invasion haven’t been realized so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  To my surprise all of the tiny parsley seedlings I set out next to these beans all survived. They were being overgrown so I tied the beans back a bit. I hope to have some for tabouleh and some to lure black swallowtails.

Pea2

The Sugar Snap peas have grown to the top of their five-foot trellis and I have to pick at least every other day to keep ahead of them.  We’ve been munching on them almost daily and I’ve had enough to take a few small bags in to my co-workers. I probably could have frozen some but they’re so much better fresh. This winter I’ll probably wish I had.

Peanut Flower

Recognize this flower? Its shape and the fact that we’re in the legume portion of the tour are clues.

Peanuts

These are the peanuts the Co-Conspirator requested. They’re looking OK but I was expecting more growth at this point. Maybe when it really heats up.  Something, possibly a coyote or one of the Sandhill Cranes that wander the gardens, dug around between a couple of the the plants twice but now seems to be leaving that spot alone.

Bolted Greens

In the Miscellaneous bed the leaf lettuces and spinach were bolting so I pulled them out and hauled them to the compost.

Romaine

The Romaine, on the other hand, is just heading up and still tastes great. We’ve been eating a bit at home and I’ve also shared heads with my colleagues. This one is definitely going on the “must grow again” list.

Blueberries

At the end of this particular Miscellaneous bed the blueberry bushes are starting to set some fat fruit. I put some sulfur somethingorother on the soil to try to acidify it again. The telltale chlorosis showing in the leaves here means the soil has gotten too alkaline again, a perennial problem in our area. I’ll be putting a tent of row cover over them soon to protect them from birds.

Oca

In the next Miscellaneous bed the oca has been a real disappointment. Probably only half, at most, of the tubers sprouted and only a couple of those are sending out any runners to speak of. I may dig up the unsprouted ones and see what condition they’re in.

Bush Delicata

Next to the oca, the Bush Delicata squash is doing much better. It got its first flower this week. I love this variety. It doesn’t sprawl all over, it produces fruit that are just the right size for two people, and they store well for comfort-food winter meals.

Malabar

At the poles surrounding the Bush Delicata the Malabar spinach is taking its sweet time taking off. Maybe it’s also waiting for hot weather. This is the only one of the first transplants to survive so I started another round that I set out last week. I tasted a leaf from it and thought it was spinachy enough to keep trying to grow it.

Cucumber Flower

In the next Miscellaneous bed the bush cucumber is slightly ahead of the Bush Delicata in the Bush League contest. Little spiny cukes are forming and the leaves are still free of mildew despite the wet weather we’ve been having. Fingers crossed.

Carrots

The carrots are coming along, at least the ones that germinated. My old Danvers Half Long seed must have been too old (hence the expression “old Danvers Half Long seed”) so at this point we only have Yellowstone and Atomic Red actually growing. We pulled and sampled a few babies of each already and I’m a little disappointed that the red ones aren’t red. Maybe in time. I purchased new DHL seed and have sown a short row where some more leaf lettuce came out.

Broccoli

Broccoli! We actually got broccoli! My past attempts to grow it in the spring have been complete failures and fall planting only slightly better. After harvesting the main head from each of the three plants they produced small, usable side heads, too. The flavor was good, too. I guess it’s a lesson in persistence. The Brussels sprouts next to them are doing well, too.

Garlic

The garlic is tall and strong looking bigger than I remember it being in the past. We’ve harvested the scapes and made a batch of hummus with them and now the leaves are starting to show brown tips. In the next few weeks they’ll brown some more and we can pull them and start curing them for storage. I’d like to note here that we are still eating from last year’s garlic crop, though the cloves are getting a little wrinkly. That probably won’t be the case next summer since I didn’t plant as much this time around. I’ll have to look at my records and see how much there was before and use that as a target for this fall’s planting.

Sweet Potato Hole

Next to the garlic I removed the overwintered onions. They were bolting but I managed to get a tasty French onion soup out of them. In their place I dug wide holes, lined them with hardware cloth to keep out critters and planted…

Sweet Potato

Sweet potatoes! I had run into a couple of neighbors who also garden at Eagle Heights just after they had finished planting their sweet potatoes. When I mentioned I’d never grown them, the next thing I knew I had a few starts, some advice and was making wire cages. I love sweet potatoes so I’m excited about the prospect of harvesting my own.

Onion

The Spanish onions are starting to fatten up. Like the garlic, we’re still eating out of last year’s crop. Also like the garlic, I think I’ve planted less than last year. Perhaps in time I’ll get the numbers properly recorded so I know just how much to grow to get us through a year. Excess of most crops is good, though, because then there are more opportunities for cooking or canning special food projects.

Leeks

The leeks are starting to look like leeks at last. For the longest time they were just green strings but sometime in the last month when I wasn’t paying attention they put out some flat, leekish leaves. I’m growing them in a cedar box that I intend to slowly fill with compost to see if I can get them to grow long and white.

Potato Box

In the next bed over, the potatoes are also growing in their boxes and they’ve already passed the tops.  I probably could have put on another section and should make one to be ready next year. This is my second attempt at burying potato plants as they grow to get them to form easily-harvested tubers aboveground. Last year’s try didn’t work so I did it differently this year, gradually adding the leaf mulch/compost as they got taller rather than burying a whole plant.

Potato Buds

Can’t wait to see if it worked and I may not have to wait long since some of them are starting to flower.

Sunflowers

This brings us to the end of the tour at the sunflower fence, growing into its job of discouraging poachers. If you’ve read this far, I thank you for staying. I enjoy reading about the progress of others’ gardens so I believe there may be someone out there who feels the same. Please return your audio guides here and exit through the gift shop where I’m sure you’ll find something to take home with you.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Grower, your garden looks fabulous and delicious. My only question is: What time is dinner?

    Reply

  2. What a collection! I would like to come for dinner too please :) You need a booking form!

    Reply

  3. Your vegetable garden is really doing well. We grew some sugar snaps (I think they are the same as mange tout) for the first time this year and have really enjoyed having them but we planted a dwarf variety and did not tie them up as we are not as industrious in the veg line as you are :). Amelia

    Reply

    • I barely tied mine up last year and they flopped over badly in a storm. I learned my lesson and this year they’re taller than me! Not that I’m a giant, though. Went to buy more Sugar Snap seeds for a fall crop and they were out so I’m going to try one called Sugar Prince. I’m expecting regal results.

      Reply

  4. Looks great. Our Oca didn’t do too well in the ground this year either – maybe because it’s been so dry ?

    Reply

    • And we’ve had it really wet. I’m wondering if they need something more to get them to break dormancy. When I get a chance I’m going to dig up the duds and see what they look like.

      Reply

  5. How time flies, it only seems like yesterday when you were waiting for the snow to go and now your plot looks a picture of abundance – great work

    Reply

  6. Considering this is June your garden is really lush and full, great job…Love the photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

NestOfSquirrels

Acorns. And scurrying.

Green Lizard's Blog

The planet is our home; we need to be more responsible. Here's what I do.

Brad Young Art

Doodling and Drawing Life

Moorezart

Artful Blogger

The Rural Side

My Adventures on the Rural Side of Suburbia

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Delicious Daydreams

I garden. I cook. I eat. I blog.

Nature's Place

The place of Nature in the 'ordinary' Spiritual Life through Meditation using Macro Photography to illustrate.

Veggie*Novice

A beginners life at the allotment

Maggie Cameron Writes

A beginning blog for a beginning writer

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

gardeningvix's Blog

Grow something...

samsallotment

Just another WordPress.com site

randomblog2014

tracking a year of experiences

Notes from the Beeyard

Thoughts and Observations of a Midwest Beekeeper

ilovemyplot

Ramblings on loving the allotment life and other garden/nature delights

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

Pardon My Garden

Where Experimenting is Encouraged

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

bethelsbees

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventuresinbeeland's Blog

My beekeeping bumbles

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

